### African American California Community College Trustees and Administrators

AACCTA – Black Caucus December 13, 2023 Executive Meeting Minutes 5 – 6pm PST

Zoom Link: https://uso6web.zoom.us/j/86080839612?pwd=ugdUKAOU7geO9x1nmu8IY3qRMVlB Tw.1 Meeting ID: 860 8083 9612 Passcode: 158182

Item 1.0 – Call to Order at 17:00

Item 2.0 – Roll Call

Barbara Calhoun - President Crystal Jackson EdD – Parliamentarian Charlotte A. Gullap-Moore, DNP – Secretary Dr. Ricky Shabazz – Treasurer joined at 17:43

## Emeritus

Trustee Eric Payne Meredith Brown

## Membership

*Non-Members* \*Thuy Nguyen - Legal Counsel Consultant

## **Absent Members**

Dr. Ricky Shabazz – Treasurer Rosalyn Green – Vice President

# **Item 3.0 – President Report** – Updates: Annual Legislative Conference January 28-29, 2024

## A. Logistics

- 1. **Venue Location (Eric Payne)** will follow-up with President Calhoun offline but will confirm by the December 19, 2023, Executive meeting. The venue location is the library.
- 2. Guest Speaker: Shirley Weber will not be able to attend and give remarks.

- 3. Flyer, Artwork & Awards (Meredith Brown) will take lead and Keisha will assist; will circle back with Dr. Shabazz for the awardee names that will go onto the flyer.
- 4. **Food Keisha** will take the lead.
- 5. **Trustee Award** the Trustee award name was change to the Ken Brown Trustee Award in honor of his work.
- **B. Black Caucus Name** review how our name is listed beneath the league; we need to add the word "California" into our name. Instead of African American Community College Trustee and Administrators it will be African American California Community College Trustee and Administrators; the revise will be presented at the January 2024 Caucus meeting.
- **C. Membership Dues** the recent membership dues date change will make the effective date for membership for renewal July 1, 2024.
- **D. Emeritus List** we changed our Emeritus eligibility status to include Chancellors, and College Presidents / CEOs. We will need to bring this to the January Caucus meeting. Also, Emeritus members do not have voting privileges. We also need to review the current list:
  - 1. Charlie Brown Monterey Peninsula College
  - 2. Meredith Brown Peralta Community College District
  - 3. Sydney Kamlager Dove Los Angeles Community College District
  - 4. Linda Handy Peralta Community College District
  - 5. Dr. Deborah LeBlanc Compton College
  - 6. Eric Payne State Center Community College District

**Motion #1** (President Calhoun/Dr. Jackson) Motion to review and renew the current list of Emeritus members on December 13, 2023. 3 Favor / 0 Opposed / 0 Abstention. Motion Carries

**Motion #2** (President Calhoun/Dr. Shabazz) Motion to nominate the following people as Emeritus:

- Dr. Helen Benjamin Former CEO of Contra Costa Community College
- Dr. Ken Brown Former Trustee of El Camino College
- Dr. Jannett Jackson Former CEO of Peralta Community College
- Deborah Blue Former CEO of State Center Community College
- Constance Carroll Former CEO of San Diego Community College
- Ned Doffney Former CEO of North Orange Community College
- Dottie Smith Former Trustee of State Center Community College

on December 13, 2023. 4 Favor / 0 Opposed / 0 Abstention. Motion Carries

<b>E. AACCTA Logo (Dr. Shabazz)</b> – created four versions have been provided and will be used inthe letterhead created by Dr. Gullap-Moore	A	AACCCCTA African American California Community College Trustees and Administration Association
<b>Motion #3</b> (Dr. Gullap-Moore/Dr. Jackson) Motion to approve the version A and version D logos to represent AACCTA on December 13, 2023. 4 Favor / o Opposed / o Abstention. Motion Carries	в	AFRICAN AMERICAN A A C COMMUNITY C C T A COLLEGE THERET A NOMBET AND ADDRESS
Item 4.0 – Suggestions for Future Topics		
1. Review Membership and Executive Board Email Distribution List: Dr. Gullap-Moore, President Calhoun, and Thuy	C	AA AFRICAN AMERICAN CALIFORNIA COMMUNITY COLLEGE TRUSTEES AND ADMINISTRATION ASSOCIATION
<ol> <li>African Diaspora Education Summit – discuss at the December 2023 meeting: Dr. Shabazz</li> <li>Fair Student Admissions related to latest Supreme Court Decision – discuss at the</li> </ol>	D	
December meeting: Dr. Gullap-Moore 4. Emeritus Selection & Review: President Calhoun		

 Technical Vote: Present the Emeritus Nomination Vote at the January 2024 Caucus

Meeting Ending Time – 18:58