African American California Community College Trustees and Administrators (AACCCTA – Black Caucus)

MINUTES

Community College League of California's 2023 Annual Convention in Burlingame Friday, November 22 4:00 pm – 5:00 pm In-Person and Via Zoom

Officers & Appointees present:

President Barbara Calhoun (Trustee, Compton College)
Vice President Rosalyn Green (Trustee, Monterey Peninsula College) – absent
Secretary Charlotte A. Gullap-Moore (Trustee, Santa Barbara City College)
Treasurer Ricky Shabazz (President, San Diego City College) – excused absence
Parliamentarian Crystal Jackson (Trustee, West Hills Community College District)
Pro Bono General Counsel Thuy Thi Nguyen

Attendees signed in using the QR Code.

- I. Introduction & Welcome President Barbara Calhoun called the meeting to order and immediately requested General Counsel Thuy Nguyen to conduct election of officers
- II. Election of Officers Counsel Nguyen explained that if a position is not contested, then there would be an affirmation vote from all those in attendance. However, if a position (or matter) is contested, then only those individuals whose college/college districts paid the General Membership annual fee would be able to vote. Counsel Nguyen projected the list of college districts that have paid their membership fee this fiscal year, with the grandfathering of January 2024-June 2024 payees since the Caucus revised its By-Laws to follow the fiscal year for membership.

1	College/College District	Paid
2	Compton College	1/18/24
3	Antelope Valley College	7/1/24
4	Santa Monica College	7/1/24
5	El Camino Community College	7/1/24
6	Pasadena City College	7/1/24
7	Monterey Peninsula CCD	7/1/24
8	South Orange County CCD	7/15/24
9	Santa Barbara City College	7/24/24
10	Los Angeles CCD	8/15/24

There was a question on the floor as to why individuals who paid the \$25 Associates fee could not vote, and Counsel responded that the By-Laws do not allow for Associate Member or individual fee-paying members to vote. Another member on the floor said that such individual-paying member could vote. Thus, Parliamentarian Crystal Jackson showed the members the By-Laws stating only voting privileges goes to individuals whose college/college districts pay; voting privileges do not go to individuals who paid the \$25 Associates fee.

Counsel stated that if the Caucus would like to revise the By-Laws to allow Associate fee-paying members voting privileges, it could do so in later meetings.

Counsel then conducted the elections for the five officer positions and asked for nominations from the floor, starting with President. Each candidate accepted the nomination; each position was uncontested, and each candidate received unanimous vote from the floor. Treasurer Shabazz, though not present, conveyed through President Calhoun that he is interested in serving as Treasurer for another term.

- i. President Barbara Calhoun (Trustee, Compton College)
- ii. Vice President Nichelle Henderson (Trustee, Los Angeles Community College District)
- iii. Treasurer Ricky Shabazz (President, San Diego City College)
- iv. Secretary Kerri Webb (Director, El Camino College)
- v. Parliamentarian Crystal Jackson (Trustee, West Hills Community College District)

President Calhoun thanked outgoing Vice President Rosalyn Green and outgoing Secretary Charlotte A. Gullap-Moore for their service to the Caucus.

III. Announcements – President Calhoun had individuals from the floor and Zoom call to introduce themselves and share any news about their trustee election or district bond elections.

President Calhoun once again thanked outgoing Vice President Rosalyn Green and outgoing Secretary Charlotte A. Gullap-Moore for their service to the Caucus.

President Calhoun then adjourned the meeting.